My first time building my new Computer

sully04

So parts of my old laptop that I had been using as my main computer for about 4 or 5 years went bad on me, and instead of spending money to repair it, I decided to get a new one. I always thought I was capable of building my own computer, but I was nervous about it. I argued with myself about it, and finally I convinced myself to take the plunge. After its all said and done I was able to build myself a computer that I am loving so far for a reasonable price, and now I know that I'll never buy a desktop any other way. My message to those who've thought about it themselves but haven't done it yet. It really isn't that hard. I was able to properly prepare myself with less then a full days reading, and plus I had a blast doing it.

im planning on building mine next year... ill be running cross fire vid cards way more powerful than 8800s and will be playing crysis at highest settings with no troubles... as for right now i also currently have a laptop

The 8800 with max settings can't run Crysis on high performance mode

I've thought about it alot too, and I think im gonna do it.

Just some question, what do you need for the comp to run in term of softwares?

All i know is we need the Operating systems and drivers, anything else?

Yeah I remember building my first computer, really good feeling from it. I was so never too because this was when I was....I think I was 14 at the time and I speant ALL of my money on it that I had been saving up since I was a little kid (over 1k) and was terrified I'd ruin it. Was so euphoric when it turned on and worked :)

But it's normally cheaper to just by a refurb'd case. Well, depending on what you want. I think most people spend too much on computer specs they don't need. I'll take a cheaper computer with less specs than paying for something that I'm not going to use. In that case it's cheaper to buy refurb'd. But if you want top of the line, building your own is the way to go.